Pianist Orrin Evans Drops New Album “The Red Door” & Reveal Tour Date | SEE VIDEO

Pianist Orrin Evans

Pianist Orrin Evans Drops New Album “The Red Door” And Update On A New 2023 Tour


Pianist Orrin Evans is back with a captivating new album titled “The Red Door.” This highly anticipated release showcases Evans’ musical prowess and his willingness to take artistic and personal risks. The album, available now via Smoke Sessions Records, features a stellar lineup of musicians, including Nicholas Payton, Gary Thomas, Robert Hurst, Marvin “Smitty” Smith, and special guests Buster Williams, Larry McKenna, Gene Jackson, the late Wallace Roney, and vocalists Jazzmeia Horn, Sy Smith, and Alita Moses.

The Symbolism of The Red Door

For Orrin Evans, the red door symbolizes the courageous journey he has embarked on throughout his three-decade-long career in music. Growing up in the Pentecostal church, red was associated with negative connotations like blood, sin, and temptation. However, Evans has come to see the color red in a different light. He believes that while it can signify warning or stop, it also represents beauty, such as roses and Valentine’s hearts. To him, the red door represents an opportunity to embrace and explore the richness that lies beyond appearances.

Opening Doors: Orrin Evans’ Musical Journey

Throughout his career, Orrin Evans has fearlessly opened various metaphorical red doors, leading to incredible opportunities and artistic growth. From his decision to pursue a life in jazz to his ventures into jam sessions and his own big band, Evans has constantly pushed boundaries and ventured into the unknown. He joined The Bad Plus, experienced success, and then charted his own course again. Each step has been a testament to his resilience and willingness to evolve as a musician.

Collaborations and Connections

“The Red Door” brings together a remarkable ensemble of musicians who have played significant roles in Evans’ musical journey. The album features two core bands: one consisting of bass legend Buster Williams, veteran drummer Gene Jackson, and either the late Wallace Roney or Philly living legend Larry McKenna on tenor saxophone; the other comprising trumpeter Nicholas Payton, saxophonist/flutist Gary Thomas, bassist Robert Hurst, and drummer Marvin “Smitty” Smith. Vocalists Jazzmeia Horn, Sy Smith, and Alita Moses make guest appearances, adding another layer of depth to the album.

Evans credits the people on this record for contributing to his history, development, and growth. Many of them are artists he had long admired or had longed to collaborate with. Tragically, some of them, like Wallace Roney, passed away before the album’s release, emphasizing the importance of cherishing opportunities to work with such masters while they are still present.

A Musical Journey Unveiled

“The Red Door” offers a diverse range of compositions that showcase Evans’ musical versatility and creativity. The album opens with the title track, which Evans originally recorded with The Bad Plus. It sets the tone for the rest of the album, featuring powerful performances by all the musicians involved. From heartfelt ballads like “I Have the Feeling I’ve Been Here Before” to energetic and swinging tunes like “Weezy” and “Phoebe’s Stroll,” the album takes listeners on an engaging musical journey.

Evans pays tribute to influential figures with his renditions of Geri Allen’s “Feed the Fire” and Ralph Peterson Jr.’s “Smoke Rings.” The album also features memorable vocal performances, including Jazzmeia Horn’s passionate interpretation of Bill McHenry’s lyric for Evans’ composition “Big Small,” Sy Smith’s soulful rendition of Geri Allen’s arrangement of “Amazing Grace,” and a captivating duet between Alita Moses and Evans on Stevie Wonder’s “They Won’t Go When I Go.”

A Captivating Live Experience

Orrin Evans’ recording sessions are known for their welcoming atmosphere, where musicians are invited to express themselves freely. Now, with “The Red Door,” it is the listeners’ turn to step inside and experience the magic. The album was produced by Paul Stache and Damon Smith and recorded live in New York at Sear Sound’s Studio C, capturing the energy and spontaneity of the performances. The high-quality recording is available in audiophile HD format, ensuring an immersive and captivating listening experience.

The Red Door Tour 2023

To celebrate the release of “The Red Door,” Orrin Evans has announced a tour for 2023. Fans can look forward to witnessing the captivating live performances that have become synonymous with Evans’ shows. The tour dates include:

– Aug. 5 | Newport, RI – Newport Jazz Festival w/ Quintet

– Aug. 25 | New York, NY – T.K. Blue w/ Captain Black Big Band feat. Dianne Reeves

– Sept. 2 | Washington, DC – DC Jazz Festival

– Sept. 16 | Pittsburgh, PA – Pittsburgh Jazz Festival

– Nov. 9 | Cape May, NJ – Cape May Convention Hall

Make sure to mark your calendars and don’t miss the chance to experience Orrin Evans and his incredible ensemble live on stage.


“The Red Door” is a testament to Orrin Evans’ unwavering dedication to his craft and his willingness to embrace new musical possibilities. With its impressive lineup of musicians and captivating compositions, this album promises to captivate jazz enthusiasts and music lovers alike. Step through the red door and embark on a musical journey filled with passion, creativity, and soul-stirring performances.


1. Can I purchase “The Red Door” album online?

Yes, you can purchase the album “The Red Door” online through various music platforms, including the official Smoke Sessions Records website and popular online music stores.

2. Are there any music videos available for songs from “The Red Door” album?

Yes, there are music videos available for several songs from “The Red Door” album. You can find these videos on Orrin Evans’ official YouTube channel and the Smoke Sessions Records YouTube channel.

3. Will Orrin Evans be touring internationally in 2023?

While the current tour dates announced for 2023 are primarily within the United States, there is a possibility of additional international tour dates being added. Stay tuned for updates on Orrin Evans‘ official website and social media channels for any international tour announcements.

4. Is “The Red Door” available in vinyl format?

Yes, “The Red Door” is available in vinyl format. Vinyl enthusiasts can enjoy the album’s exceptional sound quality and immersive listening experience by purchasing the vinyl edition from select music retailers or online platforms.

5. How can I stay updated with Orrin Evans’ future releases and projects?

To stay updated with Orrin Evans’ future releases, projects, and tour announcements, you can follow him on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Additionally, regularly visiting his official website will provide you with the latest news and updates.

About BoizQuarters 80 Articles
BoizQuarters is a movement that spreads the Gospel via charity and good deeds. It's quote is from 2 Corinthians Chapter 2 verse 15.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.