Group Singers, säje, Drops New Single, “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning” featuring Jacob Collier

In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning

GRAMMY®-Nominated Vocal Supergroup säje Releases “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning” featuring Jacob Collier

Grammy®-nominated group säje has recently released their new single, “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning,” featuring the incredible talent of Jacob Collier. This captivating rendition of a timeless jazz standard will be part of säje’s highly anticipated debut album, set to release on August 25th. Comprised of Sara Gazarek and Erin Bentlage from Los Angeles, along with Johnaye Kendrick and Amanda Taylor from Seattle, säje gained recognition in 2020 when their debut single, “Desert Song,” received a surprise Grammy® nomination.

The Beauty of Collaboration and Creativity

During the recording session, the säje ensemble was thrilled by Jacob Collier’s improvisation skills and his heartfelt rendition of the iconic jazz standard. The group was then given the opportunity to compose, arrange, layer, and paint around his performance. Sara Gazarek shares, “It was an absolute thrill to hear Jacob improvise this tender and heart-forward rendition of an iconic jazz standard in the recording studio, and to then be given the space to compose and arrange, layer and paint around him, after the fact.” Erin Bentlage adds, “I realized quite soon into the session that Jacob was very deliberately holding space for us in everything he was doing. Specific breaths, harmonic pivots around single long notes, leaving room for us to play in a moment he could have easily taken — in take after take of unendingly generous creativity.”

The Journey of säje

Säje’s story is one of magic, closeness, and artistic breakthroughs. The group experienced a creative turning point during a retreat in Palm Springs, where their bonds grew stronger, leading to the creation of their first single, “Desert Song.” This pivotal moment fueled their momentum, which continued when they performed at the Jazz Education Network Conference in New Orleans. Inspired by the positive response, säje swiftly developed an entire set of new material, much of which is featured on their forthcoming debut album.

A Fusion of Styles and Expressions

Säje’s debut album offers a captivating blend of finely crafted originals, reimagined jazz standards, and innovative interpretations of contemporary tunes. With tracks ranging from songs by YEBBA, The Bad Plus, and The Beatles to säje’s own inspired compositions, the album transcends sonic and genre boundaries. The vocal ensemble fearlessly explores new sonic territories, captivating listeners with their exceptional artistry.

Collaborators and Guests

The debut album also boasts an impressive lineup of guest artists who have contributed their talents to säje’s captivating sound. In addition to Jacob Collier, listeners can expect to hear the vocal prowess of Michael Mayo, the trumpet virtuosity of Ambrose Akinmusire, the drumming skills of NEA Jazz Master Terri Lyne Carrington, the enchanting saxophone melodies of Daniel Rotem, the rhythmic bass lines of Ben Williams, the dynamic drumming of Christian Euman, and the soulful piano playing of Dawn Clement.

A Stellar Lineup of Individual Talents

When considering the individual achievements of säje’s members, their collective virtuosity and exceptional chemistry become evident. Erin Bentlage has made notable appearances on albums by Jacob Collier, Kiefer, Kate McGarry, and Amber Navran. Amanda Taylor, a Grammy-nominated arranger, has worked with esteemed vocal ensembles such as Groove for Thought, The Manhattan Transfer, Chanticleer, and Kings Return. Johnaye Kendrick has released two albums on her record label johnygirl, showcasing her repertoire of originals, jazz standards, and contemporary pop songs. Sara Gazarek, a two-time Grammy® nominee, has firmly established herself as one of the definitive jazz vocalists of her generation.

Shining on the International Stage

With multiple award nominations and critical acclaim early in their artistic journey, säje is poised for international success with their debut album. They are trailblazers, pushing the boundaries of vocal music and inspiring other singers to explore new sonic and emotional territories. The release of their album will undoubtedly captivate audiences worldwide, solidifying their position as a vocal supergroup to watch.

Track Listing

1. Desert Song

2. (You Are) The Oracle (feat. Michael Mayo)

3. Never You Mind (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire)

4. **In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning (feat. Jacob Collier)**

5. Britches

6. Wisteria

7. I Can’t Help It

8. As This Moment Slips Away (feat. Terri Lyne Carrington & Daniel Rotem)

9. Evergreen

10. Solid Ground/Blackbird

Follow säje

To stay updated with säje’s exciting journey and their upcoming album release, be sure to follow them on their social media channels:

– Website:

– Facebook:

– Instagram:

– Twitter:


Säje’s new single, “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning,” featuring Jacob Collier, is a testament to their exceptional artistry and innovative approach to vocal music. With their debut album on the horizon, säje is poised to make a lasting impact on the international music scene. By seamlessly blending finely crafted originals, reimagined jazz standards, and contemporary tunes, the group invites listeners into a world of sonic exploration. Stay tuned for their highly anticipated album release on August 25th and prepare to be captivated by säje’s mesmerizing vocal performances.


1. Who are the members of säje?

Säje is comprised of Sara Gazarek, Erin Bentlage, Johnaye Kendrick, and Amanda Taylor.

2. Which jazz standard did säje recently release a rendition of?

Säje recently released a rendition of the jazz standard “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning,” featuring Jacob Collier.

3. When is säje’s debut album set to release?

Säje’s debut album is scheduled for release on August 25th.

4. Who are some of the guest artists featured on säje’s debut album?

Säje’s debut album features guest artists such as Michael Mayo, Ambrose Akinmusire, Terri Lyne Carrington, Daniel Rotem, Ben Williams, Christian Euman, and Dawn Clement.

5. How can I stay updated with säje’s latest news and releases?

To stay updated with säje’s latest news and releases, you can follow them on their website and social media platforms, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

About BoizQuarters 80 Articles
BoizQuarters is a movement that spreads the Gospel via charity and good deeds. It's quote is from 2 Corinthians Chapter 2 verse 15.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.